Hannah Reece of English Martyrs Sixth Form College joined 38 other young physicists from schools and colleges across North East England at Durham University’s Schools’ Physicist of the Year 2018 event on June 19th awards, in association with the Odgen Trust. She attended the celebratory ceremony with family members at the University’s Calman Learning Centre.



Hannah was presented with her award by by Steph Bartle, a PhD student in the Department of Physics who is a former pupil of Framwellgate School Durham and Charley Phillips who is the Programme Officer for the Ogden Trust and is an advocate for the importance of excellent science education at school.

EMS Physics Teacher, Mr David Edwards, nominated Hannah and provided the written address which was given out on the evening by the presenters.

“Hannah has worked consistently well throughout her first year studying A Level Physics. She has shown great dedication and determination in understanding new and often challenging concepts in Physics, and continues to make steady progress. Her focus and effort in class is always 100% and her work is always thorough and comprehensive. She approaches problems in a disciplined and systematic way and this always shows in the standard of her class work, homework, practical investigations and questioning. She has coped admirably with the pressure of being the only female student taking the course this year and shows us all why it is so important that Physics and Engineering attracts a greater number of females in future, so they can bring their undoubted skills and abilities to those fields. Well done, Hannah!”

Mr Edwards wishes to give praise to all the Year 12 Physics class and for their efforts and focus during the year. In particular, he wanted to highlight the excellent progress made by Jake Bennett as the year has progressed. He, along with Hannah, were chosen as the top EMS Y12 Physics students, not just for their assessment grades, but also their class and homework efforts over the whole year. Physics remains a challenging subject at A Level, but if students persist, the rewards at college or in industry are significant.

In addition, Mr Edwards would like to recognise the work of Diego Bautista, Cameron Healey and Liam Fletcher this year, along with the progress of Godfrey Kazomba in recent months.

At the awards ceremony, Dr Peter Edwards, the University’s Director of Science Outreach said: “As a University, we see it as part of our purpose to stimulate interest in science and encourage better understanding of the application of science to our everyday lives.

“It was a pleasure to welcome so many talented young scientists to the University to celebrate their hard work, progress and attitude in the Schools Physicist of the Year Awards. My congratulations go to all the winners.”

English Martyrs Sixth Form College would like to echo those sentiments and wish Hannah and all the students the very best for the challenging Year 13.

You can do it!!